Upcoming Webinars

Educational, timely, relevant, and free webinars that speak to UX practitioners.

10 Research Guiding Principles (that we live and work by)

Nov 27, 2017 at 9 AM PT (San Francisco) / 12 PM ET (New York) / 6 PM CET (Paris)

Register NOW! It's FREE!

We’ve collaborated on design research for 15 years—now we’re going to share our top 10 lessons learned to help you become an (even more) awesome researcher.

Whether you’re just starting out or have years of experience, come to find out our lessons learned (with examples, strategies, and resources) to be even more effective as a design researcher.

Where our hard-earned lessons come from: We’ve done research at startups, large corporations, agencies and as independent consultants. We’ve done everything from ethnography to usability to optimization to hybrid experiments. We do research in-person, in groups, online, in labs, coffee shops, living rooms and offices. We do research globally and locally. We do research to support feature and product design, product strategy, communication, content, brand—whatever needs to be informed, we inform it.

We're passionate about design research and want to help you be a great researcher because time is ticking—get out there and be awesome!

Presenters: Beth Toland and Leah Rader

Beth and Leah have been doing research on physical and digital products and services for a really long time. Sometimes they’ve worked together on the same team, sometimes at different companies—but always intersecting and collaborating on their projects, methods, techniques, tools, resources and philosophical approach to research.

Leah Rader is Director of Design Research at Spring Studio, a research, strategy and design firm in San Francisco.

Beth Toland is Research Manager at Asana, an online tool for managing the tasks, communication, and collaboration that enables teamwork bliss.

 

UXPA@Pratt, the First Student Chapter of UXPA International

Nov 29, 2017 at 3 PM PT (San Francisco) / 6 PM ET (New York) / 12 AM CET (Paris)

Register NOW! It's FREE!

The Pratt Institute School of Information student chapter of the UXPA was established in January 2017. UXPA@Pratt supports professional development and promotes career networking for students in the Information Experience Design Master of Science degree program.

In this webinar, the faculty advisor and several officers of the group will

  • Characterize  the IXD degree program at Pratt
  • Discuss how they initiated their relationship with UXPA International,
  • Outline their goals and how these are addressed in an active event schedule,
  • Talk about how their social networking strategy is building their community, and
  • Describe the UX research and design process for the future UXPA@Pratt website!

Presenters:

Craig M. MacDonald, Ph.D. (Faculty Advisor), is an associate professor in the School of Information at Pratt Institute where he developed and coordinates the Master of Science in Information Experience Design and User Experience advanced certificate programs.

Charles Dellebovi (former UXPA@Pratt President) holds a Master of Science degree in Information Experience Design from Pratt Institute. He currently works as a registrar for a small art storage and shipping company based in New York City.

Mary Ellen Curley (current President) is a second-year School of Information student pursuing an MS in Information Experience Design, and is currently a Lead Product Developer for McGraw-Hill Education.

Jo Polanco (Vice President, Communications) has had a career in corporate retail before attending Pratt, and is also a second-year School of Information student, working toward an MS in Library Information Science with an Advanced Certificate in User Experience.  

Arushi Jaiswal (Vice President, Webmaster) has a background in the fields of communication, marketing and fashion, and is a second-year student pursuing an MS in Information Experience Design at Pratt.